South Africa all to set for final spot at ICC Women’s U19 T20 World Cup, South Africa 2023

South Africa
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The final qualifying tournament ahead of the ICC Women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup will take place in Gaborone, Botswana, from 3-12 September.

Cricnode news

Nine African teams will battle it out to be the 16th team to book their tickets to the 2023 tournament to be hosted by South Africa.

They will join fellow qualifiers Indonesia, Scotland, UAE and USA in securing the spots that were left open to regional qualifiers.

Scotland beat the Netherlands convincingly in a three- match series for the European slot. USA qualified by being the only team eligible from Americas while Indonesia saw off PNG in the EAP region.

UAE emerged victorious from the Asia region, where 6 teams contested that qualifier.

The final slot to be confirmed for South Africa is now left to Africa, which is split into two groups.

South Africa
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Group A in Botswana will consist of Tanzania, Rwanda, Nigeria, Malawi and Mozambique while Group B will see Uganda, Namibia, Sierra Leone and hosts Botswana do battle.

The top two from each group will then go into semi-finals, before the winner of the final then celebrates a ticket to the World Cup proper in South Africa.

“Teams will arrive on Thursday, and we are very excited to see Africa’s young talents take their shot at glory,” Fazal Sheriff, CEO of Botswana Cricket, said.

“Botswana Cricket Association has been working diligently preparing for this, and everything is ready for our visiting teams to arrive in Gaborone. It should be a terrific two weeks of cricket,” Sheriff added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here