SL vs PAK 2022: Dhananjaya de Silva’s Century sets Pakistan mammoth target as visitors made promising start to their run chase

Dhananjaya de Silva
Pakistan made an impressive start to their 508-run chase on day-four of the second ICC World Test Championship match against Sri Lanka at the Galle International Stadium on Wednesday. Bad light followed by rain curtailed the day as play was called-off with 26 overs left undelivered.
After a promising start, the visitors lost Abdullah Shafique for 16 after a 42-run opening stand. Imam-ul-Haq finished the day at an unbeaten 46 off 80 balls (four fours).
Imam and captain Babar Azam have so far added 47 runs for the second-wicket, Babar was not out on 26 off 38 balls (two fours and one six).
On the fifth and final day, Pakistan need another 419 runs to register a world record chase. If the visitors bat out the remaining overs, the match will end in a draw earning Pakistan a 1-0 series win.

On Wednesday, Dhananjaya de Silva was Sri Lanka’s second innings’ star performer. The right-hander scored the ninth century of his Test career to spearhead his side’s progress to their 500 plus overall lead.

Cricnode news

Resuming at 176 for five, de Silva and captain Dimuth Karunaratne took their sixth-wicket partnership to 126. Nauman Ali provided Pakistan their first breakthrough of the day when he had Karunaratne smartly caught by Abdullah at short-leg. Karunaratne scored 61 off 105 balls with the help of three fours.
Sri Lanka continued to progress at a healthy rate as Pakistan bowlers searched for wickets. Debutant Dunith Wellalage fell for 18 to Mohammad Nawaz, Sri Lanka took lunch at 297 for seven – overall lead of 444.

De Silva completed his century off 159 balls, the seasoned batter found an able ally in Ramesh Mendis who followed his first innings all-round exploits (35 and five wickets) with an unbeaten 45 (54 balls, five fours).

The pair added 82 for the eight-wicket before de Silva was run out via a direct hit by Yasir Shah. Sri Lanka declared their innings at 360 for 8. Naseem Shah and Nawaz took two wickets each for Pakistan.
Scores in brief:
Sri Lanka 378 all out, 103 overs (Dinesh Chandimal 80, Niroshan Dickwella 51, Oshada Fernando 50; Naseem Shah 3-58, Yasir Shah 3-83) and 360 for 8, 91.5 overs (Dhananjaya de Silva 109, Dimuth Karunaratne 61, Ramesh Mendis 45 not out; Naseem Shah 2-44, Mohammad Nawaz 2-75)
Pakistan 231 all out, 88.1 overs (Salman Ali Agha 62, Imam-ul-Haq 32; Ramesh Mendis 5-47, Prabath Jayasuriya 3-80) and 89 for 1, 28 overs (Imam-ul-Haq 46 not out, Babar Azam 26 not out; Prabath Jayasuriya 1-46)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here