Pakistani skipper Babar Azam was found involved in illegal fielding that cost the national team five runs during second ODI of three-match series here at Multan Cricket Stadium on Friday.
According to the details, Babar wore keeping glove of Rizwan and caught a ball behind the stumps. It happened on the first delivery of 29th over.
As per laws of cricket, no fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards.
Hence, umpire gave five penalty runs to the visiting side.
It must be noted here that Pakistan beat West Indies in second ODI by 120 runs to win three-match ODI series, with a match to go
A rare thing happened tonight. West Indies were awarded 5 penalty runs due to illegal fielding by Pakistan.
Laws of cricket:
28.1 – No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards. #PakvWI pic.twitter.com/WPWf1QeZcP
— Mazher Arshad (@MazherArshad) June 10, 2022
Babar THE WICKET KEEPER 😭🤩😂#PAKvWI #BabarAzam𓃵 pic.twitter.com/leS2Hu51t1
— 𝙰𝙸𝙼𝙴𝙽 🇵🇰 (@AimenJavaid8) June 10, 2022