Netherlands finalised squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Pakistan

Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The squads have been finalised for the upcoming three-match ODI series between Netherlands and Pakistan.

Cricnode news

The crucial Super League series will commence in Rotterdam on Tuesday, with Netherlands handing a recall to experienced wicketkeeper-batter Wesley Barresi at the age of 38.

Baressi hasn’t played international cricket for his country since June 2019, but earns a call-up with a host of first choice players away in England participating in The Hundred.

Young all-rounder Arnav Jain earns his inaugural place in a senior Netherlands squad, while Scott Edwards will take charge of his first full series following the recent retirement of Pieter Seelaar.

Babar Azam will lead a strong Pakistan side that contains a bevy of fast-bowling options, including star quick Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf and Naseem Shah.

Babar has indicated Afridi may be used sparingly during the ODI series, with the towering pacer recovering from the knee injury that forced him to miss the second Test against Sri Lanka and with the Asia Cup on the horizon later this month.

“We’re looking long term at his fitness and health,” Babar said recently of Afridi.

“We want him to play a game against Netherlands if he’s fit and be ready for the Asia Cup.”

Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Netherlands squad: Scott Edwards (c), Musa Ahmad, Shariz Ahmad, Wesley Barresi, Logan van Beek, Tom Cooper, Aryan Dutt, Arnav Jain, Viv Kingma, Ryan Klein, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Tim Pringle, Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Zahid Mehmood

Netherlands v Pakistan Super League series schedule:

First ODI: 16 August, Rotterdam, 11:00am local
Second ODI: 18 August, Rotterdam, 11:00am local
Third ODI: 21 August, Rotterdam, 11:00am local


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here