IPL 2022, RCB vs DC: Dinesh Karthik smashed an unbeaten 66 to help Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Delhi Capitals by 16 runs

RCB Cricket Team
Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) returned to winning ways in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 after defeating the Delhi Capitals (DC) by 16 runs on Saturday at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Cricnode news

Dinesh Karthik once again came to the rescue for RCB with an unbeaten 66* before Josh Hazlewood’s impressive 3-28 ensured a 16-run victory.

Chasing 190, DC openers – David Warner and Prithvi Shaw got off to a flying start. Warner got off the mark with a six over mid-wicket against Glenn Maxwell.

Shaw deposited his first six of the innings in the second over against Siraj. The fifty partnership was up for the opening wicket before Shaw was dismissed by Siraj after the right-handed batter holed out to deep square.

At the end of 6 overs, DC were 57-1, with Warner and Mitchell Marsh at the crease.

Warner brought up his half-century and DC were 79-1 at the 10-over mark. The left-handed batter smoked a six followed by a slice for four against Harshal Patel in the 11th over.

Delhi Capitals
Photo Credits: IPL/BCCI

Hasaranga brought an end to Warner’s batting domination after the left-handed batter was trapped LBW in the 12th over.

DC required 90 off 42 deliveries as skipper Rishabh Pant arrived at the crease. Pant creamed two fours in the 13th over but Mitchell Marsh got run-out at the non-strikers end.

Hazlewood scalped two wickets in the 15th over. While Powell was caught behind on the first ball, Lalit Yadav was caught in the deep as DC lost their 5th wicket.

With 56 required off 24 deliveries, DC scored 19 off the 16th over after Pant and Shardul hammered a six each.

Pant smoked another six before a sensational one-hand catch from Virat Kohli at covers brought an end to the DC skipper’s innings.

Shadul Thakur hit two sixes but was dismissed in the penultimate over as DC required 27 off the final over.

Earlier, RCB, who were put in to bat first, lost early wickets of openers – Anuj Rawat and Faf du Plessis.

While Anuj Rawat was trapped LBW on his first delivery, by Shardul Thakur, RCB skipper du Plessis was caught in the deep off Khaleel Ahmed.

Virat Kohli and Glenn Maxwell added 5 fours and RCB were 40-2 at the end of the powerplay.

Right after the powerplay, RCB lost Virat Kohli’s wicket as the right-handed batter was run-out by Lalit Yadav’s direct hit.

Glenn Maxwell took on Kuldeep Yadav and smacked two fours and a six in the 9th over, which produced 23 runs.

Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI

Suyash Prabhudesai was the next batter to be dismissed after he was caught at backward point off Akshar Patel’s bowling.

Glenn Maxwell reached his half-century in style with a four against Thakur. However, the all-rounder was caught by Lalit Yadav at long-on in the next over, bowled by Kuldeep.

After a quiet couple of overs, Dinesh Karthik dispatched a maximum over deep square leg as RCB were 115-5 with five overs to go.

Dinesh Karthik accelerated further with his colossal striking and scored 28 runs from the 18th over, bowled by Mustafizur Rahman which included 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Karthik notched his half-century in the same over and RCB finished the innings with 189-5 after the final over produced 17 runs.

Brief ScoresRoyal Challengers Bangalore 189-5 (Dinesh Karthik 66*, Glenn Maxwell; Shardul Thakur 1-27) beat Delhi Capitals 173-7 (David Warner 66, Rishabh Pant 34; Josh Hazlewood 3-28) by 16 runs.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here