India name 15-player squad for the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games

India name 15-player squad for the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

India have announced a 15-member squad for the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games, the first edition of the tournament that will feature women’s T20Is.

Cricnode news

The squad will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur, with opener Smriti Mandhana named as her deputy.

Other regulars include opener Shafali Verma, spinners Sneh Rana and Rajeshwari Gayakwad, all-rounders Deepti Sharma and Pooja Vastrakar and wicketkeeper-batter Taniya Bhatia.

Batters Jemimah Rodrigues and Sabbhineni Meghana, as well as pacer Meghna Singh also find a place in the squad. Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh and Poonam Yadav have been named as the reserves.

India have been grouped with Australia, Barbados and Pakistan in the eight-team tournament. The top two teams from each group will face-off in the semis.

India will open their campaign against Australia on 29 July and will face off against Pakistan on July 31. They will play their final group game against Barbados on 3 August. All three fixtures will be played in Edgbaston, Birmingham.

India squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S. Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (Wk), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.

Standby: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here