ICC thanks NZC for successful hosting of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022

ICC Headquarter
Photo Credit: Google Images

The International Cricket Council has thanked hosts New Zealand Cricket for the successful delivery of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022.

Cricnode news

The event, which has been one of the most competitive Cricket World Cups ever, saw Australia crowned as champions after 31 games. With eight teams competing across six host cities, Christchurch, Wellington, Auckland, Hamilton, Dunedin and Tauranga, the event was brilliantly and safely delivered with Australia lifting the trophy for a record fifth time. England captain Heather Knight (L) and Australian captain Meg Lanning (R) pose with the ICC Womens Cricket World Cup Trophy during a media opportunity ahead of the 2022 ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Final, at Hagley Oval on April 02, 2022.

ICC Chair Greg Barclay said: “We are delighted with the way the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 has been staged. It has been the most wonderful advertisement for cricket with closely fought competitive matches on superb pitches at beautiful venues.

“I’d like to thank New Zealand Cricket and the Local Organising Committee for their commitment and dedication, often in challenging circumstances with COVID impacting on all areas of the event. Thanks too, to the ICC staff for once again delivering such a high-quality global cricket event and to the Match Officials for doing such a great job.

“The New Zealand cricket-loving public have done our sport proud, packing the Hagley Oval to make the final a great spectacle. Of course, our biggest thanks must go to the players who have made this event so memorable.”

“Finally congratulations to Australia for winning the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in outstanding fashion.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here