Big names back as India name 15-player squad for Asia Cup 2022

Big names back as India name 15-player squad for Asia Cup 2022. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

India’s 15-member squad for the 2022 Asia Cup was announced by the BCCI on Monday, 8 August.

Cricnode news

Rohit Sharma will lead a 15-strong group, which features the return of many of the regulars who were rested for the Zimbabwe tour.

Batters Virat Kohli and KL Rahul both make a comeback, but ace pacer Jasprit Bumrah was excluded from the squad with a back injury. Pacer Harshal Patel also misses out due to an injury.

“Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel were not available for selection owing to injuries,” the BCCI stated on Twitter. “They are currently undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru.

“Three players – Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar have been named as standbys.”

In their place, India’s pace group features the impressive left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh, who has retained his place in the side after a string of impactful performances during the West Indies tour.

Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Avesh Khan were the other two pace options in the squad.

India’s squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

The 15th edition of the tournament will be played in the UAE between six teams (main event). Defending champions India are also the most successful team, having won the trophy seven times. While the last edition of the tournament was held in an ODI format, this edition will feature the T20 format.

The six teams are divided into two groups with India, Pakistan and a qualifying team in Group A and Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan forming Group B. Each team plays the other once in the group stage with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super 4 round. The top 2 teams from Super 4 will qualify for the final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here