Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) announces Afghanistan ODI, T20I squad for Zimbabwe series

Afghanistan cricket team
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Afghanistan Cricket Board selection committee named the ODI and T20I squads for the Zimbabwe series which will be played in Zimbabwe from 4 th to 14 th June.

Cricnode news

The three T20Is will count towards the ICC T20I rankings, whereas three ODI matches will be part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

From the 16 players who were part of the ODI series against Bangladesh in February, all-rounder Gulbadin Naib has been left out, while the slow left-arm spinner Zia ur RahmanAkbar, who was the leading wicket-taker in the recently concluded Green Afghanistan One-Day Cup, has been added to the 16-man squad.

The left-arm wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad and the right-arm fast bowler Nijat Masoud have been named as reserves. Likewise, from the 16 players who were part of the squad for T20I series against Bangladesh in March 2022, Ihsanullah Jannat and Noor Ahmad have replaced Qais Ahmad and Mujeebur Rahman in the 16-member side.

The left-arm wrist-spinner Zahir Khan and the left-arm fast bowler Sayed Ahmad Shirzad have been named as reserves.

Afghanistan T20 World Cup Squad 2021, Schedule, Date, Time, And Venue -  CricketAddictor
Photo Credit: Getty Images

ODI Squad (Alphabetic Order):

Hashmatullah Shahidi (C), Rahmat Shah (VC), Azmatullah
Omarzai, Farid Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhail (wicket-keeper),
Mohammad Nabi, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-
keeper), Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai, Zia ur Rahman
Akbar. Reserves: Noor Ahmad, Nijat Masoud

T20I Squad (Alphabetic Order):

Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Afsar Zazai (wicket-keeper), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq
Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ihsanullah Janat, Karim Janat, Nijat Masoud, Noor Ahmad,
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicket-keeper), Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf and Usman Ghani.

Zahir Khan, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad

ODI Series Schedule

04 June – 1 st  ODI, Harare Sports Club, Harare
06 June – 2 nd  ODI, Harare Sports Club, Harare
09 June – 3 rd  ODI, Harare Sports Club, Harare

T20I Series Schedule

11 June – 1 st T20I, Harare Sports Club, Harare
12 June – 2 nd T20I, Harare Sports Club, Harare
14 June – 3 rd T20I, Harare Sports Club, Harare


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here